qqi logo

The short answer is yes. However, it is outdated to use the term FETAC. FETAC was dissolved and its functions were passed to QQI (Quality and Qualifications Ireland) on 6 November 2012, almost 9 years ago. Organically, all FETAC functions were migrated into QQI. This, at the time, was often referred to as ‘the migration of FETAC awards to QQI CAS Awards’.

Often, people who call us are confused by the terms QQI and FETAC. Their colleagues may still be encouraging them to do a FETAC course, and at time of writing FETAC is still a term used on the CAO website.

QQI took over the functions of the following 4 bodies:

  • National Qualifications Authority of Ireland (NQAI),
  • Further Education and Training Awards Council (FETAC),
  • Higher Education and Training Awards Council (HETAC),
  • Irish Universities Quality Board (IUQB).

Nowadays you’ll always get a QQI Certificate for a Nationally Recognised Award on the National Framework of Qualifications

A QQI award is a certificate you will receive on successful completion of a programme offered by a provider with a QQI validated programme, be it a component award (module only), or, a major award (a suite of components you have studied to achieve a ‘full award’..

All Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI) awards:

  • Are quality assured,
  • Are nationally and internationally recognised,
  • Offer access to further and higher education and training opportunities,
  • Are recognised by employers.

All QQI awards are part of the inclusive National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ), developed by QQI. The NFQ Framework brings greater clarity to the Irish education and training system, making it possible for learners, employers and providers to understand and compare different types of qualifications. All QQI awards already have a specific placing on the national framework between levels 1 and 10, allowing QQI award holders to progress more easily within the system. Forus Training offers Level 3, 4, 5 and 6 courses.

Employers will also recognise your abilities and skills because QQI awards are quality assured.  A full QQI FET/FETAC major award normally contains 8 components. A major award may be accumulated over more than one academic year. In such cases, when you complete a course with us we can assist you in achieving your major award certificate.

Lisa O Connell
Head of Centre
Forus Training .